wordsthroughtheglass

my brain on a page

New Slang Cover

I adore this cover of  The Shin’s ‘New Slang’. Has an american folk feel.

Although kudos to The Shins for the lyrics, tis very poetic.
Here are my favourite images, I couldn’t choose one, so I lifted three quotes:

“Gold teeth and a curse for this town were all in my mouth.
Only, i don’t know how they got out, dear…

New slang when you notice the stripes, the dirt in your fries.
Hope it’s right when you die, old and bony…

God speed all the bakers at dawn may they all cut their thumbs,
And bleed into their buns ’till they melt away.”

-I can’t help but sing these lines in my head whenever I read them. Yes, I am weird. But on all honesty I wish I wrote this.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

